" A perfect week in the perfect villa ! "

I’m only writing this after having secured a holiday back at Villa Petaloutha for 2018! Otherwise reluctant to share this new found paradise….

We are seasoned villa holiday renters around the Med and this is our favourite villa yet. The location is perfect, high on a hill above Glossa in glorious isolation. Although it’s a 10-15 minute drive back into the village it really is only a 10-15 minute walk too, along a delightful path right from the villa door to the top of the village.

The house is amazing! It’s a much loved home full of fascinating Greek artefacts and style, nothing like a sterile purpose-built rental house. It is so cleverly designed so there is real privacy between the 3 bedrooms but a beautiful shared living space filled with light and proper comfy sofas.

Outside are multiple terraces and seating areas around a lovely cool pool. We spent most of our time at the house but loved our visits to Glossa which is very unspoilt, and the local beaches, a day out in a boat etc. The sunsets are breath-taking, night after night.

If you want beauty, charm, peace, see a long, steep and winding drive as a challenge not an inconvenience, and appreciate somewhere unique and full of character I’d highly recommend this magical place!

Kate F, London, United Kingdom – stayed in August 2017

“ Une splendide maison de famille sur une ile. ”

Imaginez une grand maison au sommet de la colline, dominant la mer Egée avec une vue panoramique, et juste le bruit des cigales. Sans voisins, mais en réalité pas si loin du village et des plages (premières plages superbes à 10 min en voiture).

Chemin d’accés un peu raide, mais qui va amuser les enfants et les grands aussi! Les chambres sont biens aérées et la cuisine bien équipée. Piscine après la plage, les enfants n’en sortaient pas. Serviettes de plages fournies. Le wifi trés bien. On se sent donc très vite chez soi, d’autant que Anthony (le propriétaire) et Eleni, sa représentante sur l’ile font tout pour vous faciliter la vie. Eleni vient vous chercher au bateau, vous accompagne à la maison et vous explique tout. Anthony a écrit deux petits guides trés efficaces sur la maison et les choses à faire.

Le supermarché de Glossa a tout ce qu’il faut (et trés gentils), mais sortez un peu au restaurant et penser absolument à réserver chez Agnanti sur la terrasse -du haut. J’ai trouvé les insectes bien moins agressifs que dans le sud de la France, prévoir cependant un peu d’antimoustique. Au total un superbe séjour que nous n’oublierons pas.

Jerome A, France – Séjour en Août 2016

" Just about perfect "

Petaloutha is a stunning villa to visit. There are rooms galore but we enjoyed a trip for just two and we couldn’t have asked for more. You won’t find better views on Skopelos, that’s a fact! And when not outside enjoying the vista, the villa offers a couple or family a “home from home”.

Glossa is lovely little place that has some great places to eat in the evening, most in beautiful settings. Agnanti is a little more expensive than others but worth evey euro – ask to reserve the table for two with the sea view. Idyllic.

Chris G, East Sussex, United Kingdom – stayed in July 2017

" Views to Die For "

Picture the scene… sitting by the pool, glass of chilled wine in hand, gazing out over neighbouring Greek islands, with nothing to spoil the view. This was our second stay in the fabulous Villa Petaloutha. It is situated on one of the highest points on the island, where the views don’t get any better.

The house has all the amenities you could possible need. The kitchen is well-stocked, the locker room has snorkels and flippers, and the utility room has a washing machine. This year, we brought all three sons along for a scuba diving break. They loved it. The house and grounds have so many private areas, that you are always guaranteed a bit of privacy, should you need it.

Each bedroom has air-con, which was a life-saver for us. Skopelos was experiencing its hottest June for some years, with temperatures into the high 30’s. The people in the nearest town of Glossa are so friendly and there is a lovely 30 minute walk from the house into the town. Glossa has tiny streets, so leave your car behind. I can’t really offer any negatives, although be warned that the private drive up to the house is steep. That aside, this is a fantastic place to chill for a week or two. We have already re-booked for 2018.

Tim C, Eastbourne, United Kingdom – stayed in June 2017

" Fab Week in a Fab Villa "

We had a wonderful time in this charming quiet villa. It is in a remote peaceful private location where we all managed to completely relax and forget about our busy lives back in the UK. It was great base from which to explore Skopelos.

Wonderful views. Comfortable accommodation. Very helpful manager who met our every need. A thoroughly good time was had by all.

Hector, United Kingdom – stayed in October 2016

" Relaxing, tranquil and quite lovely "

Thank you so much to the owner. We had a wonderful time. The weather was a little inclement for a couple of days (this was late September), but it improved as the week went on and even if it initially kept us out of the pool, it never once marred that astonishing view. The villa is simply lovely and every bit as relaxing and tranquil as we’d hoped for.

We didn’t do very much – had some great meals in some of the fine restaurants on Skopelos, went snorkeling in the sea a few times, walked around the hill in the early morning sunshine to pick up bread in Glossa and otherwise sat around reading, playing backgammon, gazing at the sea and drinking wine, but then that’s our idea of a perfect break.

Everything was very well organised; our reception was warm, friendly and helpful, our hire car was waiting for us at the quay as promised, the house was spotlessly clean, well equipped and very comfortable… This is a calm, restful, romantic place, on a quiet beautiful island with great beaches and all quite magical in its own way. We’ll definitely be back.

Travels with DJ, Doha, Qatar – stayed in September 2016

" Fabulous remote location with breathtaking views "

We had another wonderful week in Skopelos. Antony could not have been more helpful. He helped with the timings of the transfer from Skiathos (which is always a worry). Antony also organised a reduced rate for our hire car. All in all it was a very chilled enjoyable stay.

Shon, United Kingdom – stayed in September 2016

" Breathtaking views "

What a stunning villa! It sits proudly on what must be the highest point on the island and the views are unbelievable. I cannot add a great deal to the other reviews on here, apart from attaching one of our wonderful sunset photographs.

The Villa is full of character; Anthony, the owner, is charming and takes a personal interest in the people who are renting the villa, with a welcome note and bottle of wine when you arrive. Eleni is delightful and knowledgeable about the local area. In his welcome letter Anthony recommended Flisvos Taverna, right by the sea in Loutraki and we went there several times. It did not have the grace or style of Agnanti in Glossa, but the food was wonderful and the staff were welcoming and helpful.

Be warned that the car hire firm appreciate cash for hires at the moment. The roads are not for the faint hearted, but the views and personality of the villa make a little bit of nerve so worthwhile!

Beverly B, United Kingdom – stayed in August 2016

" Character full, well designed, private... "

… with exceptional views, a get-away-from-it all

A wonderful villa for secluded relaxation, but never boring due to an abundance of indigenous wildlife and eye-catching views, but only a walk to the lovely town of Glossa.

Chris S – stayed in July 2016

“ The Perfect villa ”

Imagine the peace and quiet of a hill-top villa, with breath-taking views across the Aegean Sea and onto Skiathos. No traffic, just the sound of bees and crickets going about their business in the pine trees around the garden. Welcome to Petaloutha Villa.

This was our first visit to a Greek island and our expectations were high. When we arrived at the villa, it was pretty much love at first sight. The villa is kitted out with everything we would expect. There were even flippers, face masks and snorkels in a utility room.

All the bedrooms (3) have air conditioning, ensuring a good night’s sleep. A comfortable lounge, lovely verandahs all around the villa, a swimming pool and enough chairs and sun-loungers for six people. An added bonus is that we were met off the boat by the house manager, the wonderful Eleni. She had our hire car waiting, took us via the local supermarket and escorted us all the way to the villa. The owner of the villa has been charming, responding to emails and providing so much local knowledge. Priceless.

Seasoned TripAdvisor readers become sceptical about too much gushing. So time for a couple of issues: the drive up to the villa is steep and twisting; it can get a bit windy. However, these were VERY minor issues for us, and the odd breeze was very welcome. What else can I say? Oh, we are about to book up for next year. This is a truly wonderful place and I feel privileged to have spent a week here.

Tim C, Eastbourne, United Kingdom – stayed in July 2016

" Stunning sunsets, peace and nature "

The house is positioned right at the top of a hill, with views across to Skiathos. We were fortunate to bring binoculars to inspect passing boats, birds (bee-eaters, peregrines, kestrels and swifts) and butterflies. Rooms are comfortable, with a great family room. Pool is very welcome after a hot day on the beach (uncrowded one, nearby). Glossa has some good restaurants serving traditional Greek fare and something a bit more. Recommended.

Charles P, Greater London, United Kingdom – stayed in June 2015

“ Idyllic Setting, Look Forward To My Return ”

Visited Petaloutha with some seasoned travellers who have visited the island and villa before to rave reviews and comments. The villa and island did not disappoint. Petaloutha is set high up in the hills and to have such an idyllic location and views, not far from bars and restaurants of Glossa is fantastic.

The villa set has such character & charm and that is its appeal. The main house and the annexe allows room for people to move around freely. The views from the main terrace are breathing taking and hard to drag yourself away. The villa is set up a windy track but that allows for the amazing views, it doesn’t have all the mod cons but that is its charm & appeal as a traditional comfortable Greek villa.

Saying that the very needed air conditioning worked perfectly throughout our stay. The outhouse has a great storage and washing facility area. The gardens are situated at the back of the property. Everything we needed was at the villa and plenty of towels and clean sheets to accommodate everybody. The main living space is housed with beautiful ornaments from around the world.

I would throughly recommend Petaloutha if you like a traditional villa with bag fills of charm and a view and location to match any Greek Island. Fantastic holiday and look forward to my return.

Acarver, United Kingdom – stayed in June 2015

" Breathtaking views "

We were looking for a location where we could relax and recharge our batteries. Villa Pentaloutha was perfect ! We were concerned that out teenage children might get bored. Instead they soaked up the sun, had fun in the pool, rekindled relationships, appreciated the breath taking views and wondered at the variety of wildlife. Seeing, butterflies (villa’s name), lizards, a snake, unusual spiders, a Hoopoe bird and a daily aerial display by resident House Martins, outside the main bedroom window. We particularly enjoyed exploring the number of seating areas and taking in the different vistas around the property.

Take time to explore, particularly in Glossa, very traditionally Greek and the people are so friendly, take time to say hello. Yassou. The house managers are very helpful and are there for any eventuality. Antony, the owner too, took particular time to answer e-mails in advance of our journey to ensure we had all the information and help we needed and made the whole process of our stay easy.

Treat getting to Skopolos and back to England as an adventure – it doesn’t always go to plan!

Lindsay and Peter, United Kingdom – stayed in May 2015

“ Our Grecian home from home ”

We have been coming to Skopelos for many years now, and I cannot recommend the villa (which we fell in love with the first time we came) and the surrounding countryside (with its pine trees and wild herb aromas) and villages highly enough. It’s a perfect retreat, situated, more or less at the highest point of the peninsular, at the North end of the Island, affording fantastic views across to Skiathos and the lovely sunsets beyond. Just right with a G&T!

It’s a delightful and characterful villa, designed so that all the bedrooms seem get a sea view. It’s comfortable and unpretentious and just a little quirky and fun. I hope he won’t mind me saying this but, it reflects the personality of the owner, with artefacts and travel chests, giving a hint of the places he has visited. It’s well appointed and will suit couples and families. The second bedroom (a gallery) is lovely and third bedroom is a fun hide out for kids. I would not say it’s recommended for the very old or the very young. The pool is a good size too. And there’s plenty of area to sunbathe and eat in the shade when it gets a little warm. There’s an arched area. Exactly for this purpose, that channels any breeze there is to cool you down.

If you like walking (and I do) there are a number of routes you can take (there’s a book there in the villa telling you where you can go). One of my favourites leads down to Perivoliou beach, it’s about an hour or so, but takes in great views, bee hives, a natural spring part way down to fill your water bottle, and a rustic. And very quiet beach a the end. It’s down hill all the way and up hill back! So best for an early morning stroll. Take your camera as the sunrises are spectacular.

Skopelos is unlike Skiathos. It’s quieter and in many ways still unspoilt. Glossa is about 12 minutes drive, from the villa (or 20mins walk cross country). It’s a sleepy village during the day but does have all the necessary ingredients for a nice evening. There’s Agnanti, run by Nikos, which I cannot recommend highly enough. There’s also a taverna situated by the bus top in Glossa that serves simple food and wine and is great value. There are other smaller places around there. Or down in Loutraki which is 10 minutes drive from Glossa. Wherever we have gone in Glossa and the neighbouring port of Loutraki (just below Glossa) we have found the people so friendly. Skopelos is lovely and is pretty unspoilt, despite the Mamma Mia thing! I recommend Agnondas and any of the tavernas there. The food generally is very fresh and well prepared.

We renewed our vows here this year and invited a number of friends who had never visited the island before. We were worried that having dragged them all out here they might not see what we see in this place. But they all loved it and wondered why it was they had never been here earlier. All in all, Skopelos, the greenest island in Greece, is a wonderful place for the discerning holiday maker, looking for both the sophisticated and the simple things in life. Villa Petaloutha delivers comfort, homeliness and superb views in a secluded part of the island that I hope will never change. So don’t tell anyone.

Tim Macgil, Princes Risborough – stayed in June 2015

" Fantastic accommodation on Skopelos! "

The four of us travelled to Skopleos via Athens and Skiathos in May of this year (2015) and stayed one week. I can honestly say that while the journey here was quite the experience in itself it was so worth the effort. From our first contact to finally stepping off the ferry the owner Antony was prompt and accurate in his replies, reliable and gracious in his dealings with us. We were more than comfortable throughout the booking process. The local caretaker was always on call and extremely helpfull. When we had a small issue she was there at the villa within 10 minutes to correct the problem.

Villa Petaloutha sits high on the hills overlooking Glossa and the waters below. Skiathos lies directly across and behind that in the distance mainland Greece. Sunrise, all day sun, beautiful sunsets each day with the exception of one when a storm marched across the seas and lightening bolts streaked to the waters surface… fascinating to watch! Evening skies were filled with a hundred billion stars overhead…what a beautiful setting indeed!

The driveway to the villa, 1st time up and down is not for the faint of heart until you get used to it. The villa is very private, is comfortably furnished and offers all the amenities one needs. The pool offers great views and cooling waters from the heat of the day. We spent many moments here, staring out, shaing drinks and private conversation or reading. Every day we would go down to the local market store to get our supplies as needed and if there was something they did not have then we could travell to the other market at the port which was open on Sundays… where the other one is not.

Skopelos is extremely rugged and beautiful. We visited several beaches across the island and becasue it was mid May they were deserted which was great for picnics and alone time.

Villa Petaloutha was the perfect accommodation offering peace, tranquility and unmatched views and we feel we received more than what we paid for. Highly recommended… can’t wait to return!

Tramper, Halifax, Canada – stayed in May 2015

" Absolutely Stunning "

This is my favourite place in the world. Villa Petaloutha has been a big part of my life for many years – I have been lucky enough to holiday here many times with friends and family. The breathtaking views never cease to amaze and delight; the calm, the serenity, the space and the feel make this a truly stunning holiday spot. This is a home, not a holiday house. It is loved and makes us, as guests, feel very welcome and privileged. We will be back.

Marcus B, United Kingdom – stayed in April 2015

Availability
More Info
  • Changeover day: FRIDAY
  • Bookings direct with the Owner, no booking fees
  • Prices do not include travel to the island
  • The house sleeps up to 6 people
  • Terraces are on multiple levels, so the villa is not suitable for children under the age of five, unless parents are prepared to keep them under constant supervision
  • We are happy to assist with advice on flights, arrange car hire locally
  • Our house manager meets clients on arrival at the nearby port and guides them to the house
  • Fresh towels, linen and cleaning service provided twice a week
  • The swimming pool measures 7.50m x 2.20m
  • An updated guide to local beaches, restaurants and shops is always kept at the house
Contact Details

 For further information please contact owner Antony Thomas. Phone: +44 (0) 2076025820, Mobile: +44 (0) 7703344343, Email: petaloutha@skopelos.net

Access
  • Skopelos island has no airport; the closest is on the neighbouring island of Skiathos, from which there are regular ferry / hydrofoil links.
  • The two main ports are Loutraki (Glossa) and Skopelos Town.
  • Our house manager meets clients on arrival at the nearby port and guides them to the house
  • Car hire (4×4 recommended) is essential to enjoy the Island to the fullest. For more details about access to the Island, vehicle hire and any other questions, please contact us.
GNTO R.N.

The house has been inspected, approved and granted a license by the Greek National Tourist Organization. Registered number of license (GNTO R.N.) 0756Κ92000466501.

Stay @ Villa Petaloutha

 

Verification